

MINUTES OF THE 45th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

HELD AT THE COUNTING HOUSE, 52 CORNHILL, LONDON

THURSDAY 13th OCTOBER 2016 AT 6.00 PM

Robert Bacon, President, took the chair and welcomed the members to the AGM.

AGM 486 Apologies

Apologies for absence were noted by the President.

AGM 487 Minutes

The Minutes of the 44th AGM held on Thursday 8th October 2014 were signed there being no objections raised.

There were no matters arising from the 44th minutes.

AGM 488 Annual Report

The Annual Report for the year ending June 30th 2016 and as approved by Council was submitted for adoption by the meeting. The President stated that the report was available on the website.

G Bowyer proposed and R Emmott seconded the adoption of the report. The Annual Report was unanimously adopted by the meeting.

AGM 489 Annual Financial Statement

A Morrison, the Honorary Treasurer, had submitted the Annual Financial Statements for the year ending June 30th 2016 to the meeting indicating that the finances of the Institute were in reasonable condition as shown by the accounts. It was noted that the funding received via sponsorship from companies continues to be a vital element in the finances of MinSouth. This sponsorship allowed MinSouth to be able to support its programme of educational support for the next generation of mining & geology professionals.

A Stainer proposed and R Emmott seconded the adoption of the accounts. The financial accounts were unanimously adopted by the meeting.

AGM 490 The President's Report

The President briefly summarised the events of the year pointing out the year's achievements. The President wished to thank the whole Council for its hard work and diligence over the past year.

AGM 491 Members of Council 2016 – 2017

A notice was placed in the July edition of Materials World inviting nominations for Council. The closing date was the 26th August 2016. As of that date the following nominations have been received to join the MinSouth Council:

Kajaal Desai

Stuart MacGowan

The following councillors have resigned from the Council as of the date of the AGM and in accordance with clause 9.4 of the Constitution. All of the below have put themselves forward for re-election:

Geoff Hammond Iain Duncan Mike McLoughlin Alan Bozeat Simon Kocher

The total number of Council places available (15) under clause 8.2.7 of the Constitution for elected councillors exceeds the number of councillors already elected (7) plus those nominated above for election/re-election (7).

Therefore following section 2(e) of the Institute Regulations it is resolved that no ballot shall be necessary and that the above nominations are all elected to Council unopposed.

Ian Townsend has been nominated for co-option onto the Council

In accordance with clause 8.2.8 of the MinSouth Constitution, it is resolved to accept the above nominations and co-opt the above onto the MinSouth Council.

AGM 492 Appointment of Ex Officio Members to the Council

Angus Morrison has stepped down as Honorary Treasurer and has agreed to become Vice President

Paul Griffin has stepped down as Honorary Secretary and has agreed to become Honorary Treasurer

Ian Jackson has agreed to become Honorary Secretary

AGM 493 Induction of new President

Robert Bacon as the retiring president passed the chain of office to Roger Emmott as the incoming President nominated by council for the forthcoming year.

AGM 494 Any Other Business

There being no further business the meeting was declared closed at 18:20.

C: 1	~ .
Signed	Date
- O	_ = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =