

## MINUTES OF THE 51<sup>st</sup> ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

# HELD AT THE COUNTING HOUSE AND BY VIDEO CONFERENCE

## TUESDAY 18th OCTOBER 2022 AT 6.00 PM

## AGM 542 Opening Remarks and Apologies

Mike McLoughlin, 2020/2021 President, took the chair on behalf of Simon Kocher, President for 2021/2022 who was unavoidably absent and welcomed Members and guests to the AGM. Other apologies for absence were noted by the Honorary Secretary.

### AGM 543 Minutes

The Minutes of the 50<sup>th</sup> AGM held on Thursday, 14<sup>th</sup> October 2021 had been made available on the website before the 2022 AGM, and there being no objections raised were proposed by Mark Davis and seconded by Robert Bacon. There were no matters arising.

### AGM 544 Annual Report

The Annual Report for the year ending June 30<sup>th</sup> 2022 had previously been approved by Council at their September meeting and has been presented on the website. Clive Hallett proposed and Mark Davis seconded the adoption of the report and it was unanimously adopted by the meeting.

### AGM 545 Annual Financial Statement

P Griffin, the Honorary Treasurer, presented his Annual Financial Statement to the meeting for the year ending June 30, 2022, with a Summary of the Annual Accounts included in the Annual Report (above). The impact of the COVID pandemic continues to be evident both in receipts and expenditure when compared to previous years. On the receipts side, the funding from IoM3 was increased as the result of the grant formula being changed to reflect the use of more physical meetings. This effectively increased the grant received in the year to £3,225 compared with £1,538 the year before. On the expenditure side, the return to holding physical meetings in the latter half of the year meant that the catering and hire costs increased.

The move to holding "hybrid" meetings with both online and physical attendance prompted an investment in a laptop and associated software / hardware.



Again, there were no requests for travel sponsorship in the year and so for the second year this allowed for greater sponsorship of undergraduates with 3 students being supported. Expenditure was £8,018 compared with £2,490 the previous year. The net result was the Society saw decrease of funds for the year of £843.

Clive Hallett proposed and Mark Davis seconded the adoption of the accounts and they were unanimously adopted by the meeting.

### AGM 546 The President's Report

Mike McLoughlin gave a summary the events of the year from the Annual Report on behalf of Simon Kocher, pointing out the year's achievements, and thanked the Council on Simon's behalf for its hard work and diligence over the past year.

### AGM 547 Members of Council 2021 – 2022

A notice was placed in Materials World and circulated to MinSouth members, inviting nominations to Council. Three nominations had been received, namely: Professor Pat Foster Aymone Schendel Karin Tynelius

A short introduction was made for each of the candidates.

In addition, Council have approved Gawen Jenkin joining Council as a Co-opted Member.

Roger Emmott has now retired from his ex-officio position of a Past President for 2016/2017 and has resigned from Council being unable to attend meetings on a regular basis.

Alan Stainer and Gavin Bowyer have now regrettably resigned from Council and they were both thanked for their many years of service.

The following councillors have resigned from the Council as of today's AGM in accordance with clause 9.4 of the Constitution and all have put themselves forward for re-election: Ian Jackson Mark Burnett

The total number of Council places available (15) for elected councillors under clause 8.2.7 of the Constitution exceeds the number of councillors already elected plus those nominated above for election/re-election. Therefore, following section 2(e) of the Institute Regulations it was resolved that no ballot shall be necessary and that all the above nominations for new and re-elected Councillors are all elected to Council unopposed. This was proposed by Mark Davis and seconded by Paul Griffin and the



proposal was unanimously adopted by the meeting. Pat, Aymone and Karin were welcomed as new members of Council.

## AGM 548 Appointment of Ex Officio Members to the Council

Council nominated Colin Morrish to become President for the ensuing year and Mark Burnett and Isobel Mackay to become Senior and Junior Vice Presidents respectively.

Paul Griffin agreed to continue as Treasurer. Clive Hallett agreed to continue as Secretary.

These appointments were proposed by Robert Bacon and Seconded by Julian Bennett and were adopted unopposed by the meeting.

## AGM 549 Amendments to the Constitution and Regulations

There were no amendments proposed.

#### AGM 550 Induction of new President

Mike McLoughlin gave apologies on behalf of Colin, who was unavoidably absent for urgent family reasons, and his badge of office would be presented at a future Technical Meeting.

### AGM 551 Any Other Business

There being no further business the meeting was declared closed at 18:18.

Signed..... Date.....